AgConnectWA’s Wes Lefroy a finalist for Zanda McDonald Award

AgConnectWA committee member Wes Lefroy has been announced as one of three finalists for the 2016 Zanda McDonald Award.

Mr Lefroy, who works throughout the Wheatbelt as a Technical Manager with Precision SoilTech in addition to his AgConnectWA responsibilities, was announced as a finalist alongside New Zealand’s Dean Rabbidge, a dairy, beef and sheep farmer, and Erica van Reenen, an agricultural and environmental consultant.

The award recognises agriculture’s future leaders and helps them to develop their career potential, and was established in memory of Alexander “Zanda” McDonald who, alongside his father and uncle, ran McDonald Holdings (MDH) until his passing in April 2013. Mr McDonald was a key figure in the Australian cattle industry and was a foundation member of the Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) Group, the organisation behind the award.

Mr Lefroy said it was a fantastic opportunity for him to develop his leadership skills and continue to expand his networks, while promoting the positive work of the Western Australian agriculture industry.

The three finalists will be invited to attend the Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) Conference in Wellington New Zealand, in March, during which the winner will be announced.

The winner will receive a trophy and certificate, a tailored mentoring package valued at $20,000 designed to further their career and leadership abilities, a place on the Rabobank Farm Manager’s Program worth $7,000, and $1,000 in prize money.

The 2016 judging panel comprises of: Shane McManaway, PPP Chairman, Emily Crofoot from Castlepoint Station in New Zealand, Julie McDonald, Head of Finance at MDH Pty, Troy Setter, CEO of CPC (Consolidated Pastoral Company), Charlie de Fegely, a well-respected sheep farmer in Victoria, and Pat Gunston of Allflex Australia.


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts