Agriculture Ambassador Scholarships now open for WA ag colleges

Students in Year 11 at Western Australia’s agricultural colleges are invited to apply for an Agriculture Ambassador Scholarship, a new initiative between WAFarmers and the Department of Education WA.

The annual scholarships will recognise agricultural college students with a strong interest in the industry, and will support their growth and development within their chosen agricultural field.

WAFarmers Chief Executive Officer Stephen Brown said the inaugural awards were part of the overall scholarship support package offered through WAFarmers, and would be awarded to one student per agricultural college.

“WAFarmers has a vested interest in developing the potential of young people within agriculture and helping them to become the farmers of tomorrow,” Mr Brown said.

“These scholarships will not only support our goal of a viable, profitable and sustainable future for the agricultural industry, but will open up opportunities for the scholarship winners to gain significant industry exposure and broaden their understandings of the sector.

“In addition to the scholarship benefits, the winners will be awarded a complimentary annual membership to AgConnectWA to help connect them with other farmers and young agri-business professionals.”

As Agricultural Ambassadors, the winners will be invited to attend and participate in key industry events such as the WAFarmers Annual Conference and Dairy Conference, education programs, forums or panels, and the Perth Royal Show.

Mr Brown emphasised that the scholarships will support students with high potential to be effective communicators and active industry ambassadors, and that while academic performance would be considered, it would not be the sole criteria.

Scholarships for the WA Colleges of Agriculture in Harvey and Denmark will be tied specifically to the dairy industry, though applications are open to students at the remaining colleges with an interest in any commodity.

Applications will open in Term Three, with the winners due to be announced early in Term Four. 

Geoff Moyle, Bernard Beatty, Stephen Brown, Kevin Beal, Stephen Watt, Daniel Pollard (1) - PS

PHOTO (L-R): Geoff Moyle (Director, Agricultural Education), Bernard Beatty (Principal, WA College Of Agriculture – Cunderdin) Stephen Brown (WAFarmers Chief Executive Officer), Kevin Beal (Principal, WA College Of Agriculture – Denmark), Stephen Watt (Principal, WA College Of Agriculture – Narrogin), and Daniel Pollard (Esperance Senior High School).


All media requests to be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts