Congratulations to all Agriculture Ambassador Scholarship winners

The first annual Agriculture Ambassador Scholarship for students at the state’s five agricultural colleges have all been awarded, and WAFarmers congratulates each student.

The annual scholarships, which opened to Year 11 students at colleges in June, recognise agricultural college students with a strong interest in the industry, and support their growth and development within their chosen agricultural field. For the WA Colleges of Agriculture in Harvey and Denmark, their scholarships are tied specifically to the dairy industry.

WAFarmers Chief Executive Officer Stephen Brown said the organisation had a vested interest in developing the potential of young people within agriculture and helping them to become the farmers of tomorrow.

“These scholarships will not only support our goal of securing a viable, profitable and sustainable future for the agricultural industry, but will open up opportunities for the scholarship winners to gain significant industry exposure and broaden their understandings of the sector,” he said.

“One of the main challenges we see for the industry is attracting and retaining young people in agriculture, especially in the dairy industry. 

“The sector needs to work to connect with the young people and ensure there are plenty of long-term opportunities for them to flourish, and we hope that through these Agriculture Ambassador Scholarships, doors will be opened for the students and they will inspire others to get involved in agriculture.”

In additional to personal and professional development opportunities, the winners will be awarded a complimentary annual membership to AgConnectWA to help them connect with other farmers and young agri-business professionals, and will be invited to attend and participate in key industry events such as the WAFarmers Annual Conference and Dairy Conference, education programs, forums or panels, and the Perth Royal Show.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016 Agriculture Ambassador Scholarships:

  • Charlie Cloud – Western Australian College of Agriculture – Denmark
  • Emma Bentley – Western Australian College of Agriculture – Narrogin
  • Chloe King – Western Australian College of Agriculture – Cunderdin
  • Louis Payne – Western Australian College of Agriculture – Harvey
  • Laura Husbands – Western Australian College of Agriculture – Morawa

Recent Posts