Contributors recognised at awards ceremony

WAFarmers recognised eight people and one organisation for their service to the Federation and the agricultural industry during its annual Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by CBH Group, last week.

The Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony ended the two-day WAFarmers 2014 Annual Conference, sponsored by Coles, which was held at The Vines Resort and Country Club on March 19 – 20.

Former WAFarmers President Trevor De Landgrafft was awarded life membership to the Federation for his more than 30 year involvement with the organisation.

“Since joining WAFarmers in the early 1980s, Trevor has been a passionate and active member and representative. As he steps down from the WAFarmers board this year, we thank him for his many years of service and look forward to his continuing contributions,” WAFarmers President Dale Park said.

The President’s Award was given to Jo Woodfield from Wrays for her work on the strategic review program Recharge.Reconnect.

“Jo has dedicated an incredible amount of time to assisting the organisation through the ongoing Recharge.Reconnect project, all while facing her own personal challenges,” Mr Park said.

Two Distinguished Service Awards were presented at the ceremony, honouring Des Gooding and Max Watts

“Max has this year stepped down from the position of Vice President after four years. He has made a valuable contribution to the organisation over a long period of time and I thank him for his service,” Mr Park said.

“Des has been a long-time active member of the wool council and has been integral to a number of organisational reforms.”

The Industry Service Award was presented to Co-Operative Bulk Handling Limited for their exceptional service to the WA agriculture industry and their ongoing collaborative relationship with WAFarmers.

Certificates of Merit were awarded to Matthew Swainston and Maitland and Margaret Davey for their exceptional service to the Federation, while the Young Farmer Award was presented to Kallum Blake.

“All of these winners have shown exceptional commitment to the Federation and to promoting agriculture among the community,” Mr Park said.

“I thank each and every one of them on behalf of the organisation and look forward to continuing these fruitful partnerships into the future.”


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Marketing and Communications Officer Leslee Hall on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts