GROW2017: Outstanding individuals recognised at WAFarmers Gala Dinner

Seven individuals were recognised at tonight’s WAFarmers Gala Dinner and Awards ceremony for their dedication and service towards the organisation and the state’s agricultural sector.

WAFarmers President Tony York said the recipients had demonstrated outstanding commitment towards WAFarmers and towards the development of the state’s agricultural industries.

“The seven individuals acknowledged tonight have continually worked hard to advance Western Australian agriculture and to act on behalf of WAFarmers Members on all matters of interest,” he said.

“They are all exceptionally worthy winners for their respective awards and, on behalf of WAFarmers and the sector as a whole, I would like to congratulate them on their achievements and thank them for their service to agriculture.

Mr York said Life Membership Award winner Marg Agnew was a quiet achiever, big thinker, steady worker, passionate advocate and dedicated member of WAFarmers, and was a thoroughly deserving winner.

“A WAFarmers member since 1976, Marg has worked tirelessly holding various roles including President of the Esperance-Ravensthorpe zone, WAFarmers Southern Region Board Member 2009 to 2013, and Vice President of General Section in 2015, amongst other wide and varied community roles,” he said.

“Like many influential women in agriculture, she works solidly, devoid of ego, and almost always under the radar – her efforts have literally changed the face of agriculture at many levels, especially when it comes to the empowerment of women in agriculture through her own impressive example.”

Mr York said President’s Award winner Phil Brunner from Bailiwick Legal had provided valuable legal advice to WAFarmers and its members over many years, and the partnership between the two businesses had gone from strength to strength since the relationship began over a decade ago.

The 2017 WAFarmers award winners were:

  • Marg Agnew (Life Membership)
  • Sue McDougall (Distinguished Service Award)
  • John Henchy (Industry Services Award)
  • Wally Newman (Industry Services Award)
  • Henry Gratte (Young Farmers Award)
  • Robin Hewitt (Special Award)
  • Philip Brunner (President’s Award)

WAFarmers would like to thank the event sponsors: Coles, CBH Group, the Department of Agriculture and Food WA, Monsanto, Bailiwick Legal, Telstra, WAFarmersFirst, CropLife Australia, New Holland Agriculture, Brookfield Rail, GRDC, Meat & Livestock Australia.


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts