Outstanding ag representatives recognised at WAFarmers Gala Dinner

Eight individuals were recognised at tonight’s WAFarmers Gala Dinner and Awards ceremony for their dedication and service towards the Federation and the Western Australian agricultural sector.

WAFarmers President Tony York said the award recipients had demonstrated outstanding commitment towards the farming advocacy group and towards furthering the development of the state’s agricultural industries.

“Over the course of the last year, the eight individuals acknowledged tonight have continually worked hard to advance Western Australian agriculture and to act on behalf of WAFarmers members on all matters of interest,” Mr York said.

“They are all exceptionally worthy winners for their respective awards and, on behalf of WAFarmers and the wider agricultural sector, I would like to congratulate them on their achievements and thank them for their commitment.

“In particular, I would like to acknowledge Corrigin/Lake Grace Zone President Bob Iffla who was awarded Life Membership to the Federation.

“He truly epitomizes the values and character of a farmer; he is savvy in his ability to lobby and campaign for farmers’ rights and is a person that many can hold as an example. I congratulate and thank him for his unwavering support.” 

The formalities were preceded by a fashion show by local designer Azulant Akora who debuted her ‘The Dawn of Dusk’ Merino wool garment collection, which included the black evening dress for which she was awarded first prize at the Australian Wool Fashion Awards in 2014.

WAFarmers would like to thank the sponsors: Meat & Livestock Australia, Coles, CBH Group, AWTA Limited, Monsanto, GrainGrowers, GRDC and CropLife Australia (event sponsors), Prime Super, Bailiwick Legal, Australian Reliance and RSM (WAFarmers sponsors), and Rural Focus Radio West and Countryman (media sponsors).

The 2016 WAFarmers award winners were:

  • Bob Iffla (Life Membership)
  • Kim Simpson (Distinguished Service Award)
  • Ed Rogister (Distinguished Service Award)
  • Kelly Manton-Pearce (Young Farmers Award)
  • Joe Candeloro (Certificate of Merit)
  • Laurie Bush (Certificate of Merit)
  • Phil Surtees (Certificate of Merit)
  • Ian Barden Brown (President’s Award)


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts