Vitality 2018: Limitless opportunities for agriculture

The WAFarmers Annual Conference: Vitality 2018 kicked off yesterday, with industry speakers across multiple commodities delivering insightful and engaging presentations which left attendees excited about the future of agriculture in WA.

Hosted by MC Vin Dawes, the proceedings featured Annual General Meetings for the Livestock, Grains and General Sections of WAFarmers, in addition to presentations from key industry representatives including: Richard Norton (Meat and Livestock Australia), Stuart McCullough (Australian Wool Innovation), Allan Piggott (Sheep Producers Australia), John Langbridge (Teys Australia), Scott Kompo-Harms (National Farmers’ Federation), Justin Crosby (GRDC), Matthew Cossey (CropLife Australia), Pene Newitt and Matt Cheney (Western Power), and Boyd Brown (Telstra).

The election of office bearers throughout the AGMs also saw the following WAFarmers representatives elected to formal positions in the organisation. Congratulations to:
Livestock Section: David Slade, President (incumbent); John Wallace, Senior Vice President (incumbent); no nominations received for Vice President (position to be appointed at the next Livestock Council meeting)
Grains Section: Duncan Young, President (incumbent); Mic Fels, Senior Vice President (incumbent); Mark Fowler, Vice President (incumbent)

“The event theme of Vitality was certainly met on day one of the Annual Conference,” said WAFarmers Chief Executive Officer Trent Kensett-Smith.

“From grains industry stewardship and red meat production alternatives, to existing and emerging telecommunications and power technologies, the first day of Vitality 2018 was a fantastic success, and we look forward to building on this excitement today on the second day of proceedings.”

In the WAFarmers AGM, Tony York was elected to the position of President for a second two-year term, while Rhys Turton was elected to the position of Senior Vice President. The position of Vice President was declared to be a casual vacancy, with there being no nominations for the role. The Board will appoint a Vice President from within the Board of Directors at the next Board meeting.

Lyn Slade stepped down from the Senior Vice President position, to instead fulfil a Board Member position. With two casual vacancies on the WAFarmers Board, WAFarmers has called for expressions of interest. The successful applicants will be appointed by the WAFarmers Board for a term from appointment date until the next AGM in 2019.

“WAFarmers sincerely thanks Lyn Slade for her outstanding efforts as Senior Vice President over the last two years, and the out-going Board Members Kallum Blake and Hayley Goad for their time and dedication on the Board during their tenures,” Mr Kensett-Smith said.

To conclude the day, delegates, sponsors and speakers enjoyed a networking sundowner sponsored by CropLife Australia, which was attended by over 100 people and featured beer and cider from WAFarmers’ newest partner Gage Roads Brewing Co.

The WAFarmers Annual Conference: Vitality 2018 will conclude today with a second day of presentations and panels, including an official open from Minister for Agriculture Hon. Alannah MacTiernan MLC, with the event to end with the Gala Dinner and Awards.

Event sponsors: Coles (Platinum Sponsor), the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development (Silver Sponsor), CBH Group, GRDC, Telstra, Meat and Livestock Australia, and Egg Farmers of Australia (Bronze Sponsors), CropLife Australia (Sundowner Sponsor), Bailiwick Legal (Satchel Sponsor), Bresland Insurance Group (Lanyard Sponsor), nbn, Linley Valley Pork, Harvey Beef, Mt Barker Chicken, Sittella Winery, and Gage Roads Brewing Co (Produce Sponsors).

Tradebooth exhibitors: Coles, the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, Agworld, NRM WA, RSM, Bresland Insurance Group, Muresk Institute, Bailiwick Legal, Telstra, Prime Super, 4Farmers, Rural Insurance Solutions, SureSeason, and CelsiusPro.


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts