And the WAYAA Agriculture Award goes to… Jessica Andony

WAFarmers congratulates Harvey local Jessica Andony who was announced as the winner of the inaugural Agriculture Award at the 2017 WA Young Achiever Awards earlier this evening.

Jessica (24), who could not attend the ceremony due to prior commitments, was represented on the night by her mother who accepted the award on her behalf, with a pre-recorded video of Jessica aired after the announcement.

Since graduating with honours from Murdoch University in 2014, Jessica has quickly taken a leadership role in supporting the WA dairy industry, both professionally through her job with Western Dairy, and as a volunteer.

While these achievements alone are well worth celebrating, it was Jessica’s professional, technical and emotional support to the 19 WA dairy farms impacted by the Yarloop fires last year that was considered by her peers as her most remarkable contribution, especially given her own family’s farm was amongst those effected.

Jessica’s nominator said her work in the fire response in the weeks and months after made a real difference to the recovery for the farms, as she showed ‘experience and empathy way beyond her years’.

WAFarmers Chief Executive Officer Stephen Brown said the organisation was thrilled to have co-sponsored the inaugural Agriculture Award as part of the event, in partnership with Rural Bank.

“To have been part of a state-wide celebration of young people and their achievements within the agricultural sector was very special to us, particularly given our vested interest in developing the potential of young people in agriculture and helping them become the farmers of tomorrow,” he said.

“It was once again an excellent night, and the finalists and awards winners for all categories are all incredibly talented and passionate individuals who thoroughly deserve this outstanding recognition.

“In conjunction with Rural Bank, we look forward to being part of the WA Young Achiever Awards again next year and continuing to celebrate the achievements of young Western Australians in agriculture.”

WAFarmers would like to congratulate all the award winners and finalists for their achievements, in particular the three other finalists for the Agriculture Award: Guy Coleman, Katrina Sasse, and Nicholas Hardie.


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts