AgConnectWA committee member nominated for Zanda McDonald Award

WAFarmers offers their congratulations to AgConnectWA committee member Wesley Lefroy for being shortlisted for the 2016 Zanda McDonald Award.

Mr Lefroy, who works throughout the Wheatbelt as a soil scientist with Precision SoilTech in addition to his AgConnectWA responsibilities, was one of six individuals shortlisted for the award which recognises agriculture’s future leaders and helps them to develop their career potential.

The Zanda McDonald Award was established in memory of Alexander “Zanda” McDonald who, alongside his father and uncle, ran McDonald Holdings (MDH) until his passing in April 2013. Mr McDonald was a key figure in the Australian cattle industry and was a foundation member of the Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) Group, the organisation behind the award.

AgConnectWA President Kallum Blake said Wesley would be a worthy winner of the award.

“He is an asset to the state’s agricultural industry at many levels, from his involvement in AgConnectWA as our Secretary and being a major driving force behind many of the group’s new ventures, to offering expert advice across Western Australia in his role with Precision SoilTech,” Mr Blake said.

“He also maintains a connection with the family farm which I believe is an important element to the award, as Zanda McDonald was committed to his family.”

Mr Lefroy said he was humbled to have been shortlisted, especially given the high calibre of entrants.

“Meeting the judges and other finalists in Brisbane last week and speaking with them about their involvement in the sector was very inspiring and stimulating,” Mr Lefroy said.

“I am very honoured to have been shortlisted. This is a fantastic opportunity for me to not only be exposed to the PPP Group and the great work they do, but for me to develop my leadership skills and continue to expand my networks.

“Being a finalist of Zanda McDonald Award has given me the opportunity to share the positive work being done here in WA agriculture, with people from Australia and New Zealand.”

A judging panel will narrow down the search to three finalists, from which a winner will be determined. The three finalists will be invited to attend the PPP Conference in Wellington, New Zealand, in March 2016, during which the winner will be announced.

The winner will receive a trophy and certificate, a tailored mentoring package valued at $20,000 designed to further their career and leadership abilities, a place on the Rabobank Farm Manager’s Program worth $7,000, and $1,000 in prize money.


All media requests must be directed to WAFarmers Media and Communications Officer Melanie Dunn on (08) 9486 2100 or [email protected].


Recent Posts